t f l r

Jury meeting for the D’SIGN Awards 2014

Selection of  nominees D’SIGN Awards

Great interest for the first time organized annual Design Awards, which was demonstrated by the tens of dozens of entries we received. It was a tough job for the jury, which met on 12 September at the IJkantine in Amsterdam to held the selection of the nominees and winners in five categories.

Jury meeting D'SIGN Awards 2014 Small Photo ©Rick van Eijk.12
Jury meeting is started

It was difficult for the jury to choose from the wide range of talent. The participating products are evaluated according to the highest standards. The appraisal process follows a canon of strict criteria, which is constantly adapted to the latest findings in materials, process, production, products, innovation and construction. But also for creating new appreciation/elevating existing products, awareness, impact, senses, culture and ecological requirements. These criteria provide a guiding framework, which is filled in individually by each juror.

Jury meeting D'SIGN Awards 2014 Small Photo ©Rick van Eijk.26
Chairman Graham Sturt and Sef van der Plas

The jury have come to a conclusion and made their choice for the 13 nominees according the criteria and selected a winner for each 4 categories. And an overall winner of the D’SIGN Awards. The public have a chance to vote too! Their votes will name the sixth winner. For the Public, you can give your vote here Nominees public Vote. All the winners will be announced at the Award Winning Ceremony on 3th October 2014 in the Woonbeurs at the RAI Amsterdam.

Jury meeting D'SIGN Awards 2014 Small Photo ©Rick van Eijk.30
Sophie de Vocht

For the jury, it was a difficult decision to cancel the category Interior Design. But it was a unanimous conclusion that the entries for the category Interior Design did not meet the required standard for the competition in accordance with the criteria as given.

Jury meeting D'SIGN Awards 2014 Small Photo ©Rick van Eijk.36
Monique Willemse and Huib van Winkoop in consultation

point of jury; Each designer is unique and talented in his or her way. They have demonstrated the drive to create and the courage to compare their self to others in competition. The jury therefore considers it important that all entries will be invited to attend the awards winning ceremony during the Woonbeurs in the RAI.

Jury meeting D'SIGN Awards 2014 Small Photo ©Rick van Eijk.22
Graham Sturt explaining his point of view

It was the jury of the D’SIGN Awards 2014 a great pleasure be allowed to judge the designs of of the 66 candidates. Commenting on the D’SIGN magazine jury review process, chairman and  juror Graham Sturt of vbat said, “It’s great to be able to give each entry its time and respect and to take in what was this person really thinking and what they were trying to convey? It’s really exciting.”

Jack van Dijk
Jack van Dijk
Jury meeting D'SIGN Awards 2014 Small Photo ©Rick van Eijk.33
Jury is coming to a dissension

Jury consists of the following members:
Chairman Graham Sturt. Creative Director at VBAT, Amsterdam
Huib van Winkoop, Founder and owner TOPIQ, Amsterdam
Monique Willemse, Founder and owner Momoko Visions Trends Concepts
Sophie de Vocht, Purchaser and advisor The Frozen Fountain, Amsterdam
Sef van der Plas, Designer Kabaz
Jack van Dijk, Founder and owner & Van Dijk Interior Design.

Gabrielle Voogt, owner of D’SIGN magazine,

Nominees are:

Ecological Design:
Studio Roex
Yur and Ingeveldt
Eszter Imre

Home Interior Design:
Wouter Defrancq
Renate Nederpel
Dirk Oosterink
Reinaart Vandersloten

Kitchen Design:
Lisanne van Zanten & Renée Boute
De Intuïtiefabriek
Lisette Bokma

Lifestyle Design:
Roos Meerman
Nynke Koster
Bernadette van de Braak

Gabrielle Voogt
Director D’SIGN Awards

Photo’s by ©Rick van Eijk


Twitter Facebook Del.icio.us Digg LinkedIn StumbleUpon Googleplus Pinterest